The Addictive Blog Award

img_0912I was nominated for this award by Odelia from The Random Bookblogger, who seems to have a sixth sense for when someone really needs an extra push to start posting again. Thank you so much, Odelia! I know you sounded a bit apologetic in your nomination, because you already nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award, but to be honest, this only makes me feel more flattered. I’m having a bit of a messy time at the moment where there is so much going on that I have little space in my head to think of a blog post, so this encouragement really helps. Did I say thank you? Thank you. :)

Why I started blogging

Like many people here on wordpress I’ve had several other blogs that never really worked out. I stopped posting after about a month or so because I simply ran out of things to say. Heck, I’ve even tried posting videos on Youtube. However, I felt I could express myself better through writing than speaking. I agree with Odelia that the dressing up for the camera and the self consciousness that comes with filming yourself were just too stressful. And so much work. (I’m very lazy too).

I started a bookblog because I really love books and I’m never tired of talking about them. I love having a place to channel my excitement towards or share nice things on. I only started this summer, but it is already the online project I have been able to keep up longest.

Blogs I’m Addicted to

  • The Book Wars – This blog is written by four girls who all express really interesting ideas about books. I really enjoy their feature ‘The Cover Wars’, where they, as you may have guessed, compare book covers.
  • Austenprose – I don’t follow many Jane Austen/ Regency blogs, as I’m not as invested in the topic as I used to be, but Austenprose is definitely a keeper! It keeps me updated on everything I need to know and gives off the warm and comforting feeling of a good cup of tea. (In a pretty vintage teacup of course – pinky up!)
  • Thought Catalog – This blog does really good articles on just about anything. Encouraging, smart and heart-breaking, I definitely recommend you check this blog out.

Now it’s 2pm and I really need to return to my essay on Wallace Stevens. I shall leave you with one of his poems that I really enjoy. On first glance, it may come across as a simple winter themed poem, but for me it is much more than that. It is about losing yourself in order to see the world properly. Note that the title uses the words ‘Snow Man’ and not the more conventional spelling of ‘snowman’.

Thanks again Odelia & I hope you all enjoy checking out these blogs!

The Snow Man

By Wallace Stevens

One must have a mind of winter
To regard the frost and the boughs
Of the pine-trees crusted with snow;

And have been cold a long time
To behold the junipers shagged with ice,
The spruces rough in the distant glitter

Of the January sun; and not to think
Of any misery in the sound of the wind,
In the sound of a few leaves,

Which is the sound of the land
Full of the same wind
That is blowing in the same bare place

For the listener, who listens in the snow,
And, nothing himself, beholds
Nothing that is not there and the nothing that is.

2 thoughts on “The Addictive Blog Award

Leave a Reply

