I was recently nominated for the Liebster Award by Stephen from Stephen Writes and Elara from Spellbookworm, thank you both!

I’ve done this award once before, in September 2014. That is FIVE AND A HALF years ago! I am a blogging dinosaur!

THE RULES:

  1. Acknowledge the blog that gave it to you and display the award
  2. Answer 11 questions that the blogger gives you
  3. Give 11 random facts about yourself. I’m going to do two sets of questions and skip this one.
  4. Nominate 11 blogs and notify them of their nomination
  5. Give these blogs 11 questions to answer

Stephen’s Questions

1. Who is your absolute favourite book character?

This gal.

Tom Felton says Emma Watson packed a 'hardcore' punch in ...

2. What is your favourite fruit?

Kiwi, mango, strawberry and avocado, preferably combined in a little sushi roll :).

3. You just walked into a lovely coffee shop, what is your order?

A flat white with soy milk and a brownie. Mmmm.

4. Which house-chore do you despise and which one is your fave?

I hate hoovering and I’m quite ok with dusting, putting up laundry or doing the dishes. They’re all quite satisfying. I wouldn’t really call them favourites, though :P.

5. Book shopping in store or online?

I love going to bookshops and I try to buy books there, but as I live in The Netherlands while mainly reading in English, the books I want are often unavailable in my local bookshop.

6. What is your Hogwarts house?

Image result for griffindor gif

7. Who is your favourite author?

I really love books by Gabriel García Márquez (I’ve read most of them but not all) and Jane Austen (but not Mansfield Park).

8. What would your dream holiday be like?

Travelling around Europe by train, visiting friends and exploring new cities along the way.

9. What is the worst book you have ever read, and why?

Oh dear, I don’t know. If I don’t like a book I am more likely to DNF it than to read the whole thing.

10. What is your favourite book cover and why?

This cover of We, The Drowned by Carsten Jensen. The swirly design extends around the spine and to the back of the book.

Find my full list of the 10 prettiest books I own here.

11. Which book would you like to have a movie/series adaptation of?

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson, as I want to see the art protagonists Jude and Noah make. It sounds so good!

Elara’s Questions

1. Are you subscribed to any monthly book boxes, such as OwlCrate?

No. Honestly, the idea doesn’t appeal to me at all. I prefer to choose for myself what books & merch I spend my money on.

2. What book would you love to see turned into a movie/TV show?

I’m waiting for the day that they do a re-make of the Harry Potter films in the form of a TV-series, where they would be able to go into the story much deeper and do stand-alone episodes about Luna or Neville. I enjoy the eight movies we have at the moment, but there is just so much they leave out.

3. What trope can’t you get enough of?

(Fr)enemies turned lovers, like Elizabeth & Darcy from Pride and Prejudice or Beatrice & Benedick from Much Ado About Nothing.

4. What trope are you sick of?

LOVE TRIANGLES

Bored Alan Rickman GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

5. Is there a book that you weren’t sure you’d like, but ended up liking?

That’s a great question! I had owned The Leaf Reader by Emily Arsenault for years until I finally read it last autumn. The cover made me feel a bit hesitant about it but it turned out to be very good. It tells the story of a girl who solves a local crime by reading tea leaves.

The Leaf Reader cover

6. What book character do you relate to most?

I see a lot of myself in Lizzie from Pride and Prejudice: well meaning, stubborn, and occasionally too quick to judge.

the secret diary of lizzie bennet | Ode to Jo & Katniss

7. How would you feel if you had to trade places with the protagonist of the last book you read?

The last book I read was The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald, in which a Swedish woman moves to a small town in America and starts a book store to give back to the community that receives her with open arms. That’s the dream, isn’t it?

8. If you had to choose, what book villain would you be?

Becky Sharp from Vanity Fair by W.M. Thackeray. She’s shrewd, manipulative and always gets what she wants.

9. What’s your favourite magic system?

I’m so used of the world of Harry Potter that I find it hard to think about magic in any other way.

10. Is there a special bookshop or library in the world that you’d love to visit?

I hear there is a village in Scotland full of independent and second hand book stores. Sounds amazing!

11. What advice would you give to new book bloggers?

Most importantly: don’t worry too much, blogging should be fun for you and you can do it in whatever way you want. A few basic pointers I could give are: make sure your blog layout is legible and easy to navigate; try to alternate tags&memes with discussion posts; and don’t be too ambitious in how often you want to upload. It’s better to be consistent in the long run than to do short bursts that burn you out. (I learned that the hard way…)

I tag

No pressure, I just think your blogs are very cool and I want to send you some love ❤

R e a (d) i v i n e

Caitlin Althea

Me And Ink

Anna’s Book Nook

DB’s Guide To The Galaxy

Sleepy Sam Reads

Books And Prosecco

Books And Dachshunds

Nine Tale Vixen

Camillea Reads

The Exiled Soul

Questions:

  1. How many unread books do you own?
  2. Can you recommend a book that is a classic in your country but isn’t very well known anywhere else?
  3. Do you know a film that is better than the book it’s based on?
  4. Do you have a favourite bookmark?
  5. How do you choose which book to read next?
  6. Writing in books – yay or nay?
  7. What are the top-three things on your bucket list?
  8. What is the most embarrassing book on your bookshelf?
  9. Do you re-read books?
  10. What is your favourite book cover?
  11. If you had to complete one ‘do … every day for a year’-challenge, what would you choose?

Thank you for reading! 🌻

12 thoughts on “Liebster Award Nomination

  1. Love your answers! I agree with you about the book boxes. I’m also picky. I’ve only purchased a couple because I liked the books and the merchandise.

    A Harry Potter TV series would be amazing! Movies often screw up and leave some good stuff out. I definitely prefer a show.

    The Leaf Reader sounds so interesting. I’m adding it to the pile!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations and thank you so much for the nomination! It means so much to me! ❤️ I adore Lizzy from Pride and Prejudice, and I agree that love triangles are totally overdone! Where in Scotland are you talking about because I have always wanted to go there and I would love seeing some amazing bookstores while I’m at it! Thanks for sharing and for all the amazing content you make🙃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on your award!! And I literally spent too long trying to figure out how 2014 was 5 years ago until it hit me, it is 2020 😅😅
    The swirls on that cover is beautiful. I would love to see the book in person 😍😍 (you know how you have to see a book in person)
    And yes I’m waiting for a Harry Potter TV show and the detail would be amazing !! And then the old cast could make cameos as well 😍😍
    Yeah the love triangle is the worse one !!
    Thank you so much for the nomination, I appreciate it so much !!! 💛

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahaha, yes, sometimes I hear that a book or tv series is from 2009 and I think ‘oh, so not that old’ before I realise that is ELEVEN YEARS AGO. Time flies! And yes, I so know that feeling of having to see a book in person. I’m counting down the days till I can go to a bookstore again!! Thanks for your lovely comment ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  4. thank you for the nomination!! 🥺 and i’m kinda over love triangles too! some people say that love triangles just aren’t done right, but i don’t know… i think i’m just sick of reading storylines about two people who are in love with a (in most cases) girl who’s described as plain, timid, etc., no matter how well-done the love triangle is

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.