TWT Day 20For me, this book perfectly captures the feeling of my first year at uni. I vaguely remember my friends and I all reading it in quick succession and relating to it strongly. I don’t think I related to it because Charlie and I had much in common (cause we didn’t), but because the way he sees things and the way he struggles with forming close relationships are described in such a poignant, touching way, that it feels like whatever you are dealing with at that moment, Charlie would understand. And I think that in a way, we were all struggling to make friends and to ‘participate’. We were all finding ourselves. We were all trying to understand why the people around us acted like they did. I think we needed a book that told us life was hard, but felt comforting at the same time. That told us that we are all so different and we are all so the same. That gave us many beautiful (and quotable) sentences: “We accept the love we think we deserve“.

Thanks Chbosky, your book will always have a special place in my heart <3.

‘The Weather Today’ is a challenge I set myself in which every day(ish) I will take a random book from my bookshelves and write a few sentences about it. And today is the last instalment, YAY!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.