September Wrap-Up

September – start of the academic year and much too busy to post and such. This can only be confirmed by the date on which I’m posting this wrap-up: a week into October.

Blog Posts

Happy Thoughts

teacups qanda Magritte

Just some random nice things that made me happy this month:

  • For my birthday, one of my friends gave me these amazing home made teacups! The first says “Look at the stars, look how they shine for you”, the second “have a sip of hot comfort”. Amazing, right?!
  • I am three years round with my Q & A a Day. I answer a question in this five-year journal every day(ish) for 1104 days now!
  • This book about Magritte. I saw an exhibition of his work in Brussels this summer and have been hooked ever since. Today my favourite painting is ‘La Profondeur du Plaisir‘.

New Books

September is both the beginning of the semester and my birthday month, so I have an amazing amount of new books to show you! The links are to their Goodreads pages.

new books

  • Etta and Otto and Russell and James by Emma Hooper – One morning 83-year-old Etta gets up early and starts walking towards the east. This is the story of a remarkable school teacher and the two students who fell in love with her.
  • Redeployment by Phil Klay – Twelve short stories that paint a blurry picture of what it would be like to be a US soldier in Iraq. I ordered & read this book for a course on modern literature.
  • The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender – Rose Edelstein takes a bite out of a lemon-chocolate cake her mother made and discovers that she can taste emotions in baked goods. One of my friends saw this on my Goodreads to-read list and gave me her own copy <3.
  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett – A touching story about what it is like to be a household maid in Mississippi in 1962. I have read this book several times and even own a copy, but I asked this book for my birthday because the cover is incredible. (I’ll show it in another post).
  • The Novel Cure by Ella Berthoud and Susan Elderkin – The subtitle says it all: ‘From Abandonment to Zestlessness: 751 Books to Cure What Ails You’. I’m LOVING THIS ONE.
  • The Heart of Redness by Zakes Mda – Generations ago the prophetess Nongqawuse urged the Xhosa people to slaughter their cattle so the ancestors would return. This split the community into believers and nonbelievers, the consequences of which can still be felt today. (Another course book).
  • Second Hand Smoke by Thane Rosenbaum – What effect did the holocaust have on the children of the survivers? (Course book).
  • Fun Home by Alison Bechdel – A graphic novel about a fraught father-daughter relationship. (Course book).
  • The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell – “What is born must one day die. So says the contract of life, yes? I am here to tell you, however, that in rare instances this iron clause may be… rewritten.” I treated myself to this in early September, as I loved Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas and this book looked thrilling. I’m too much of a sissy to read it at night, though.

Books I’ve Read

Hmm, with such a pile of new books I must have read something as well, right? Nope. I’ve started four books: The Heart of Redness, Redeployment, The Bone Clocks and Etta and Otto and Russel and James. I stopped reading The Heart of Redness about 2/3rd into the novel because even though it is beautifully written, it became a bit repetitive and dull. Sadly, nothing in the story enticed me to read on. I’ve read several stories in Redeployment and thought they were rather good but didn’t find the time to read them all before my seminar. Lastly, I’m really enjoying both The Bone Clocks and Etta and Otto and Russel and James and I’m excited to read more!

coming soon

Coming Soon

I’m working on an analysis of a striking poem by Louis MacNeice. Wow, this stuff is good! Apart from that, how about a post on beautiful book covers?
How was your month? Leave a comment below :).

 

2 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

