Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Will Probably Never Read

TTT 2 collage Over popularized, forever TBR or just too darned heavy to read in bed; we all know and dread those books. Under the guise of ‘it’s still Tuesday somewhere’, here come my top ten not-to-read.

  1. The rest of Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – I once had to read this book for a module on ‘the long 19th century’. After struggling through the first 100 pages, I decided once and for all that Charles Dickens is not my cup of tea.
  2. American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis – Some of my friends read this book for a module on contemporary fiction and told me so many horrible things about it that I am very sure I will never read it. Graphic descriptions of rape and murder? EW.
  3. Allegiant by Veronica Roth – I read the first two novels in the Divergent series and I quite enjoyed them, but they didn’t motivate me to read the third book. On top of that, the paperback edition of the third book in the series was taller than the other two. If there was ever a good incentive not to buy something…
  4. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold – I have picked up this book several times but I never finished it. A lost case, I think.
  5. When We Were Orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro – Same story as The Lovely Bones. I bought the book for a module I was taking, but then got ill when we were set to read it and never got round to picking it up. It has stood untouched on my bookshelf for at least a year now.
  6. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – I enjoyed the musical, but I don’t think I would like to take on the book without the music: *bursts into song* “Do you hear the people sing…”.
  7. 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James – Though I appreciate that this book has opened up some discussions about erotica and some taboos attached to it, I don’t feel I will ever try it. Not my genre, I think. Also, the writing is supposedly very bad.
  8. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – My days of reading Fantasy are over (for now). I know that everyone and their father (gender stereotypes – yay) enjoy this book but after having watched the first season of the tv-series and still not feeling for anyone I wasn’t that called to run to a book store. (Though I know I shouldn’t base my opinion on a tv adaptation.)
  9. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – If I lived a hundred years more I would try this book. However, at the moment it’s at the bottom of the ‘list of great classics’ I would like to read someday. My boyfriend, who is reading over my shoulder as I write this (YES YOU), is mimicking certain death by stab wounds for my blasphemy.
  10. Ulysses by James Joyce – I really appreciate this book for its position in the English literary cannon and as an example of stream of consciousness writing etc. However, it is just too *Modernist* for me to actually enjoy reading it.
4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Will Probably Never Read

  1. 50 Shades is the the most poorly written book I’ve ever read!šŸ˜” I really don’t think you’re missing out on anything by not reading it. I love the Game of Thrones series, but if you’re not into high fantasy at the moment, I understand why it wouldn’t appeal to you. I had to read Les Miserable in the original French for high school, (shudder) yet it still remains one of my favorite classics. And American Psycho – ugh!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is, of course, a good reason to read Hugo: the original French. Though he may need a lot of them to say something, he does craft beautiful sentences. Unfortunately I cannot read French, so most of the style is lost on me. I’m glad you still enjoy it, though. Nothing can ruin a book like high school can ;).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

