Top Ten Tuesday: Childhood Favourites

indexHurray! This is my first ever top ten Tuesday! (TTT is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.) When I saw today’s theme I just couldn’t resist. Here comes my top ten of books from my childhood I would like to revisit. (Three of my answers are similar to my Liebster Award nomination.)

      1. Jim Knopf und Lukas der Lokomotivführer by Michael Ende – When I was younger, my parents tried to raise me bilingually, so they would each read me bed time stories in their native languages. My father read to me in German, and this is my all-time favourite book of the ones he read. It tells the story of a young boy on a tiny island, who, together with his adult friend, converts a train into a ship and sails to China.
      2. Und Wir Flogen Tausend Jahre by Martin Auer and Simone Klages – In this picture book three children imagine an amazing flight across the universe. I simply love the ideas for planets they have and how they transform themselves to fit the planets.
      3. bl-pic-2The Brothers Lionheart by Astrid Lindgren – I think the last time I read this book was only a year ago. I love it so much! Adventures, mysteries and a Dragon, who could want for more?
      4. Koning van Katoren by Jan Terlouw – An amazing Dutch book about a seventeen-year-old boy who has to complete seven tasks to become king. The reason it’s not higher up on my list is that I basically know it by heart.
      5. The BFG by Roald Dahl – My favourite Roald Dahl book by far. I used to read it in Dutch when I was little, but I re-read it in English a few years ago and was amazed by the brilliant word-jokes.
      6. The Six Bullerby Children / The Children of Noisy Village by Astrid Lindgren – Again, Astrid Lindgren, but her works are simply amazing. I also really loved Ronia the Robber’s Daughter, but I decided to put this one on the list because I don’t remember much of it, except one scene where they have been selling cherries at a busy street and when they blow their noses they see that their snot is grey from the dust. Some memories, eh? :). 
      7. Matilda by Roald Dahl – Does this need an explanation? This is another one of my childhood books that I know by heart.
      8. Five on a Treasure Island by Enid Blyton – My dad read this to me in German, but I don’t remember much of it. Seeing as it’s such a cultural phenomenon in England, I would like to have a look at the original.
      9. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot – I have read each of the ten books in this series several times. I believe I would just get them out of the library one by one and then start again when I had read the last part. On second thought, I think I might not like to re-read them though, I’m afraid it would never be as good as it was then.
      10. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares – Same story as The Princes Diaries. I would get these out of the library in Dutch every vacation and simply devour them. I bought the English box set a few years ago and every now and again I read a few pages. I don’t even have to start at the beginning, I can open the books at random and still know what’s going on.

So yeah, re-visiting my childhood favourites might be a little problematic for two reasons. Of one half of these books I remember every single detail because I read them so often, the other half I fear they would not be as good as I remember them being. However, it was still a lot of fun to think of my top ten, so I’ll definitely give TTT another go in the future :).

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Childhood Favourites

  1. Oh, how could I have forgotten about Jim Knopf? I loved that book. And I remember the snot scene from The Bullerby Children as well! I recently reread Pippi Longstocking and was sadly disappointed, but I just saw that the library has Ronia the Robber’s Daughter, so I will give Lindgren another try. I just LOVE your list…

    Like

    1. I was never too excited about the Pippi books either, I think the films are better (and I hardly ever think that). Ronia the Robber’s Daughter is really good, I think you’d enjoy that more. It’s great to hear about another Jim Knopf fan :). Did you see the Ravensburger puppentheater adaptation of it? It is so adorable.

      Like

  2. Koning Van Katoren was one of my favorite childhood books as well, and the same goes for every Roald Dahl book out there! Astrid Lindgren would also be high on my favorites list. :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

